CEF procedure

You want to begin or continue your higher education in France, and you live in a country using the Campus France/CEF online procedure?

2 steps to follow:

  1. Register with your local Campus France office to apply for admission and obtain a student visa
  2. Send your application to EHESP

If you don’t live in one of those countries, apply on EHESP website.

Minimum language requirements

A certain proficiency in languages is required for attendance on the course. It corresponds to the B2 level on the Common European Framework of reference (CEF).

In French

  • DELF (Diplôme d’Études en Langue Française) : level B2 of the new grid (or second level : A5 + A6).
  • TCF (Test de connaissance du français) : 450
  • TEF (Test d’Evaluation de Français) : 585

In English

  • TOEIC : 785
  • TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language)
    Paper-based: 550
    Computer-based: 213
    Internet-based-test: 79/80
  • IELTS (International English Language Testing System) : 6.5

Information on the French and European academic system

ECTS, three-cycle system, M1, M2, …. What can these terms possibly mean, when describing higher education in France and in Europe?

The European Credit Transfer System (ECTS )

In the EU, the international validation and recognition of degrees and courses is based on a common credits system (European Credit Transfer System). The ECTS credits obtained by any student can be capitalized and transferred, e.g. if the student’s academic pathway involves several universities. 1 ECTS corresponds to 25 to 30 hours (in classroom + personal work).

The three-cycle system

French higher education degrees are organized according to a common European structure composed of 3 cycles (Bachelor-Master-PhD). This takes into account years or semesters validated since entering higher education (and their corresponding ECTS):

  • Bachelor = 6 semesters (180 ECTS)
  • Master = 4 semesters (120 ECTS)
  • PhD = 6 semesters

Master Year 1 – Year 2

The master course, which can be entered after completing a bachelor degree, is obtained with 4 validated semesters, i.e. 120 ECTS. Master studies are completed within 2 years usually called “M1” (1st year) and “M2” (2nd year). The national master degree awarded is accredited by the National Higher Education and Research Evaluation Agency (AERES).

Co-accredited masters

Several EHESP masters are co-accredited or delivered in partnership. A co-accreditation means that two higher education institutions deliver and sign the degree jointly.

Advanced master

The “advanced master” is a post-master degree of 2 semesters minimum, based on lectures, individual research work within a company or organization, the writing of a professional thesis and a viva. The “specialist master” is accredited delivered by the “Conférence des Grandes Ecoles (CGE)”.

Visit Campus France website which provides you with clarifications and explanations.

Published on 14 January 2016